Posted by: David Harley | July 19, 2016

MacKeeper threatens young critic with a harassment suit

I haven’t checked out MacKeeper personally, but its name keeps coming up in various contexts, and not usually in a context that inspires confidence. And I can’t help but notice that many of the requests for advice I receive are from people using it.

Perhaps I should just repeat, more or less, something I said in an earlier blog:

The name has come up several times in comments directed towards Mac security sites like this one, Mac-related user forums and on various specialized lists, in the context of dubious malware alert pop-ups and aggressive marketing. I’ve never used or tested the product myself(and don’t intend to – as long as I’m getting a sizeable proportion of my income from a security product, I prefer not to return to formally testing other security products), I haven’t seen any of the behaviour of which the product is accused at first hand, and I obviously can’t in normal circumstances confirm the veracity or otherwise of accusations made in blog comments.

But apparently 14-year-old Luqman Wadood has been so outspoken that the company behind the product has threatened him with legal action over some videos he posted on YouTube.

Graham makes the very apposite point ‘I wonder if MacKeeper has ever heard of the Streisand effect?’ At any rate, there are a number of comments to his article at the moment that all seem to support Wadood’s position.

David Harley

Leave a Reply

Categories

