Posted by: David Harley | March 3, 2016

Apple vs FBI: another view

Interesting view of the Apple/FBI debate from Kevin Townsend. He says of Apple:

…it is a very successful business that is very good at PR and marketing. I suspect that’s all this is: a rather cynical PR exercise.

I remain unsure of where I stand on the issue, technically or ethically. But I have to admit that I’m never surprised to detect cynicism in a press release, whether it’s from big business – and Apple is certainly hugely successful at PR and marketing – or from a government agency. In this case, I find it hard to ascribe total impartiality to either party. But we do need that debate on privacy versus security.

David Harley

Leave a Reply

Categories

