Posted by: David Harley | July 14, 2015

Support scams

…not a topic we discuss much here, as support scammers tend to focus on Windows users, though I have addressed it occasionally:

However, I found a comment on this site today from someone about pop-ups they were seeing on Safari “saying that my computer has a virus and i need to call a certain number to get it removed”. (I’ve already responded to the comment, by the way.)

I can’t offer one-to-one tech support, I’m afraid – my days in Mac and PC support are long behind me – and I’m not generally in favour of trying to offer a one-size-fits-all solution for the benefit of anyone checking this site. There are too many sites offering various kinds of advice to users that in some circumstances might actually make things worse, and since I don’t want to fall into that trap, I try to avoid offering generalist advice that I’m not in a position to test exhaustively.

That said, Thomas Reed’s The Safe Mac site features generally sound commentary and advice page and has an article here that specifically addresses pop-up scam ‘virus alerts’ targeting Mac users, and if you’re seeing something like this, his advice on how to get rid of a scam message may work for you. I’ve had a few conversations with Thomas regarding malware in the past couple of years, and he seems pretty well-informed. There are also lots of comments worth reading from other victims, and Thomas is pretty good at responding to them.

While it doesn’t specifically talk about support scams, Apple has a page here that might be helpful in terms of dealing with other ad-injection software issues.

I maintain a collection of links to tech support scam information on the AVIEN blog.

David Harley

Leave a Reply

Categories

