Posted by: David Harley | October 12, 2013

Mac Virus and the AV Industry

The Mac Virus web site was created by Susan Lesch in the 1990s as an independent resource for Mac users concerned about malware issues. When Susan no longer had time to maintain it, she passed it on to me, and while it wasn’t getting much attention from me for a while, I transferred it to this blog a few years ago when it became clear that OS X malware was starting to be a significant issue and have maintained it as a source of independent commentary since then.

Let’s be clear about this: I do provide part-time consultancy services to ESET, a security company with headquarters in Bratislava. However, maintaining Mac Virus is not and never will be one of those services. ESET does not sponsor the site (nor does anyone else), or have any control over its content, and my opinions here are my own. I may include my ESET job title in my signature to make it clear that I do have a paid relationship with the security industry, but I don’t think that invalidates my right to express my own opinion, and if I was speaking on behalf of ESET, I wouldn’t do it here.

Old Mac Bloggit is, obviously, a pseudonym. Actually, there are two people who have occasionally used it. They do not blog on behalf of ESET. And in fact, both are now considering whether it might be better not to blog here or my testing blog again. In my considered opinion, that would be a pity. However, I’ve now removed two blogs relating to ESET beta software (one article of mine, and one of Mac’s). This goes against the grain, because both expressed honest and non-partisan opinions, but at my age I have better things to do with my time than get into a vendetta and I don’t think the world will miss two Mac Virus articles much.  However, I happen to think ESET does good research and I don’t promise never to mention it again.

One more thing: I don’t have a problem with strongly-held opinions and debate, or even egotism – I’m not the most modest of individuals myself – but I’m not going to approve abusive comments to any blog article.

David Harley
Speaking only for himself and Small Blue-Green World

Leave a Reply

Categories

