Posted by: David Harley | July 17, 2013

MacRansom

I’m a little nervous of putting in what might be yet another failed link to one of my articles for Infosecurity Magazine, but I’ll give it a try. (And sure enough, the first time I linked, it failed, so I re-pasted it. I don’t know what causes this: I don’t see it on other links.)

Ransomware Deviating from the (java)script is about a malicious javascript that tries to persuade that your machine is locked by the FBI by making it impossible to quit Safari even with a forced quit. Well, not really: the article includes two workarounds that apparently work, though I haven’t tested it myself.

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World
ESET Senior Research Fellow

Leave a Reply

Categories

