Posted by: David Harley | January 10, 2013

iTunes Connect scam addressed

Here’s an announcement from Apple that you might easily overlook.

Beginning January 9, app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved. New screenshots may be uploaded when you submit a binary for an update to an existing app or a new app.

Paul Ducklin, for Sophos, explains what Apple has actually done here: i.e. taken action against an all-too-common scam.

Produce a legitimate, uncontroversial but not terribly interesting app – something you can do quickly and inexpensively – and get Apple to approve it for sale in the App Store at a modest cost.

Then do a bait-and-switch not of the app itself, but of your promotional material, dropping in a screenshot from a well-known or highly professional app to make your software look like great value for money.

Good move.

David Harley CITP FBCS CISSP
Small Blue-Green World/Mac Virus/Anti-Malware Testing
ESET Senior Research Fellow

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: