Posted by: David Harley | December 1, 2012

Don’t panic…

No major new epidemics, just a couple of interesting items:

And Matt Blaze seems to be arguing in Wired that the republication of iPad users’ email addresses was OK because  “how could Auernheimer have known that AT&T wasn’t deliberately (if ill-advisedly) publishing its customer database, perhaps as part of some service or application?” I’m not sure that altogether fits with the argument that he was alerting the owners of those addresses to a vulnerability by making their data publicly available. And Kim Zetter’s earlier article includes some transcripts that cast considerable doubt on the altruism of Auernheimer and Spitler in any case. I’ve no doubt that AT&T was pretty cross at the exposure of its gaffe, but it’s doing a better job of defending (however weakly) the interests of the owners of the data.

Hmm. I wonder if Blaze discussed the issue with Mat Honan? Honan was pretty cross with himself as well as Apple and Amazon, whose lax security contributed to his misfortune. But I don’t see him going out of his way to empathize with the hackers who “used my Apple account to wipe every one of my devices, my iPhone and iPad and MacBook, deleting all my messages and documents and every picture I’d ever taken of my 18-month-old daughter” so that they could delay his recovering his ‘prestigious’ Twitter handle.

David Harley
Small Blue-Green World/Mac Virus

Leave a Reply

Categories

