Posted by: David Harley | November 12, 2011

Having trouble with Windows on your Mac?

Posted to chainmailcheck: some commentary on the snippet of conversation Rory Cellan-Jones enjoyed with a cold-call support scammer recently, as recapped on the BBC’s Today.

The main justification for citing it here is that Cellan-Jones kept the scammer busy for some time before telling him that he was actually using a Mac. In fact, I’ve heard it suggested that some of these scammers have scripts for Mac users too, but I’ve never seen transcriptions of such a script.

If you’re interested in this type of scam, I’ve just kicked off a support scam information/resources page at AVIEN: PC Support Scam Resources.

David Harley CITP FBCS CISSP
Small Blue-Green World/AVIEN

Responses

  1. Hi,
    I just purchased the desktop iMAC Lion: it has “pages” which is supposed to convert easily to a WORD document, although my niece says, “NO! Pagers to WORD is a hassle!! I had to put Microsoft WORD on my Mac laptop.” I need your opinion on this ASAP…please email me right away, as I plan to do this on Monday….is there danger in this?

    • Responded by email as you requested. However, I need to point out that this isn’t a general support site, and while I’ll always help if I reasonably can, I can’t guarantee to respond quickly to any individual question, as this isn’t actually my job. (If it was, I’d blog here a lot more often…)

      • thanks; sorry! Where should I go to get advice on this?
        My MACOSXTiger laptop is down for the count due to virus/malware (sp) & I guess I just want to prevent any more trouble ahead.
        I apologize for the inconvenience.

      • No apology necessary. I’m just sorry I can’t be of more help. Your best bet is probably to find someone local who knows Macs, even if it is a malware problem (most mac virus problems turn out to be something else). If you want to keep trying on the web, you could try http://reviews.cnet.com/macfixit/. There are some suggestions on getting help here, too: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-find-help-for-your-mac-problems.html


Leave a Reply

Categories

