Posted by: David Harley | November 4, 2011

Mac Viruses is not Mac Virus…

I came across a Mac malware-related blog page yesterday that I hadn’t noticed before. Since I don’t make any money off this blog, I’m not in the least bothered by competition, and I’ll leave it to you to decide whether it’s worth keeping track of the content. Though personally I’d have linked to the PC Tools iAntivirus page rather than simply reproduce it, and I’d have tried to keep the information a little more vendor-neutral.

Actually, I just did link to the iAntivirus threat database from my descriptions page: the iAntivirus page itself  is here.

Something that did slightly concern me, though, is that the blog calls itself {Mac Virus} and includes a potentially misleading copyright notice (“© Mac Virus.”)

Just to be clear, macviruses.net has absolutely no connection with the original Mac Virus site (set up by Susan Lesch over a decade ago) or this blog.

David Harley CITP FBCS CISSP

Leave a Reply

Categories

